Acknowledgements - Annual Report 2022

The Secretariat team

The Secretariat is the ‘engine room’ of the Eurochild network. We thank our staff and interns for their hard work in 2022.

Executive Team

  • Jana Hainsworth, Secretary General (until November 2022)
  • Valeria Santostefano, Director of Programmes (until July 2022)
  • Andrea Witt, Director of Operations
  • Axelle Stainier, Director of Finance


  • Jeta Bejtullahu, Head of Communications (from February until August 2022)
  • Davide Rambaldi, Communications Officer
  • Jennifer Traini, Communications Assistant


  • Camille Biot, Events and Administration Assistant (until April 2022
  • Claire Boutry – Events and Office Assistant (from August 2022)
  • Anita Marullo – Membership and Operations Officer (from May until November 2022)

Policy, Advocacy and Programmes

  • Ally Dunhill, Head of Advocacy
  • Agata D’Addato, Senior Project Manager
  • Zuzana Konradova, Thematic Coordinator - Children in Alternative Care
  • Ciaran O'Donnell, Policy and Project Officer
  • Fabiola Bas Palomares – Policy and Advocacy Assistant, also covering Events and Administration (from May 2022)
  • Sarah Abitbol – European Affairs Officer (from April 2022)

Child Participation

  • Mieke Schuurman, Senior Advisor - Child Rights & Safeguarding
  • Alice Hagger-Vaughan, Child Participation Officer

Eurochild Intern Programme participants in 2022

  • Fabiola Bas Palomares, Policy and Advocacy Intern (from February until May 2022)
  • Sebastian Lindt – Policy and Advocacy Intern (from November 2022 to present)
  • Nell Fingleton – Child Participation Intern (from April 2022 until January 2023)

The Management Board for their leadership and strategic guidance

  • H.E. Marie-Louise Coleiro Preca, Honorary Member, Malta – President
  • Tanya Ward – Children’s Rights Alliance Ireland – Vice-President (elected at 2022 Annual General Assembly 11 May)
  • Ninetta Kazantzis – Pancyprian Coordinating Committee for the Protection and Welfare of Children, Cyprus –Treasurer - (elected at 2022 Extraordinary General Assembly 16 November)
  • Ljiljana Vasic, Pomoc Deci, Serbia – Treasurer (until November 2022)
  • Sean O’Neill, Children in Wales, UK
  • Miia Pitkänen, Central Union for Child Welfare, Finland (resigned in August)
  • Uroš Brezovšek, Slovenian Association of Friends of Youth, Slovenia
  • Adrian Oros, Hope and Hopes for Children Romania, Romania
  • Julien Vangeertsom, Individual Associate member, Belgium (elected at 2022 Annual General Assembly 11 May)
  • Macarena Céspedes, Plataforma de Infancia, Spain (elected at 2022 Annual General Assembly 11th May)

Eurochild’s allies and partners in 2022 for helping us achieving our impact

Our funding partners:

  • European Commission, EMPL.D1: Social Policies, Child Guarantee, Social Protection Committee
  • European Commission, DG Justice, Fundamental Rights Policy Unit
  • European Commission, European Education and Culture Executive Agency
  • OAK Foundation, Prevent Child Sexual Abuse Programme
  • Open Society Foundation – legacy grant from the Early Childhood Programme
  • UNICEF Europe & Central Asia Regional Office
  • Martin James Foundation
  • Tanya’s Dream Fund - a special initiative in memory of Tanya Kovacheva, created by OAK Foundation & sheltered by Swiss Philanthropy Foundation
  • Porticus

Umbrella networks and coalitions Eurochild is part of:

  • EU Alliance for Investing in Children
  • European Expert Group on the transition from institutional to community-based support
  • European Public Health Alliance
  • Social Platform
  • Child Rights Connect
  • Child Rights Action Group
  • European Anti-Poverty Network
  • Initiative for Children in Migration
  • Civil Society Liaison Group of the EESC
  • Global Coalition to End Child Poverty
  • Transforming Children’s Care Global Collaborative
  • Regional Child Protection Sub-working Group – Ukraine Refugee Situation
  • ESF Transnational Cooperation Platform European Commission Expert Working Group on Early Childhood Education and Care
  • European Commission Expert Working Group on Schools: Subgroup on Pathways to School Success

Our consultants

First Years, First Priority campaign

  • Giorgiana Rosa, Advocacy consultant
  • Jonathan Ellis, Campaigner & trainer

The DataCare project

Fundraising & project development

  • Dominic Smith, corporate engagement consultant


  • Zsolt Polacsek

Our contractors & service providers

Go back to the main Annual Report 2022 page

Related News/Events